Cards, Cards and More Cards

Believe it or not, I’ve been pretty busy lately! In addition to the terrible weather Texas has been having (I work in the insurance industry), I’ve had a ton of cards to make…Mother’s Day, birthday’s, graduation and unfortunately one condolence card. I know a solution to this would be to keep more cards on hand, but I’m not there… yet.

I had a lot of fun with the Mother’s Day cards. I didn’t feel to comfortable with the Altenew layering stamp sets I bought a couple of weeks ago, so I figured what better way to master something than to get practicing. And practice I did!  I ended up making eight cards and only screwed one up 🙂 The stamp sets used were Beautiful Day and Vintage Roses. I also used Altenew inks in the Red Cosmos, Green Fields and Cool Summer Nights mini cube sets. I had a bit of trouble getting a smooth look with the Ocean Waves color since I was using a cube and my stamp was much large. In the end I then it turned out pretty good though.


My oldest niece just graduated from the University of Southern California. Go Trojans! We are all so proud of her, so of course she was getting a one of a kind graduation card. It took a bit for me to figure out what direction I wanted to go in for her. In the end I used a skyline from Avery Elle’s Super stamp set, and raised some balloons over a Congratulations sentiment. Getting the same letters from the sentiment to match up on the balloons was a lot of fun. I used my MISTI and it worked perfectly. I’ll definitely be using this techniques again in the future. I put some Glossy Accents over the balloons to give them a nice shine, but they weren’t as sparkly as I would have liked. I think I’ll use my Wink of Stella glitter pen first next time. The inside was simple. I stamped “Happy Graduation” and added a personalized note.


We had a sudden death in our family recently. I was unable to attend the funeral and wanted to send something with a personal touch. In any situation, a handmade card shows the recipient that you cared enough about them and their situation to take the time to create something for them. I wanted this card to have a different feel than some of the other condolences cards I’d created in the past. I saw this post on Jennifer McGuire’s blog and used her masking technique to create my card. I used silver embossing powder for the main sentiment and the Altenew Beautiful Day stamp set (told you I needed to pratice). I think it turned out beautifully.


Of course I don’t have pictures of the birthday cards I made for my niece and nephew! I do however have pictures of the cake and ice cream I had those days. Gotta keep my priorities straight!

I’ll be back soon with some of my latest projects. Until then, keep crafting and stay sane!

 

Leave a Reply

