Back to School – C/O 2028 Shirt

Raise your hand if you’re ready for school to start! Because I know I am! Honestly it’s not that big of a deal because I’m at work all day while the kids are at summer camp, but still…

Anyway, last year my baby started Kindergarten and I thought I would be fun to have some way to be able to watch him grow over the years. I saw a photo advertisement for a local photographer of a little kid in a t-shirt that read “Class of 2030”. I thought it was sooooo cute, so I headed over to Pinterest. Of course there were tons of similar ideas on there too. The plan is to take a photo of him in this shirt every year until his Senior year in high school.

Rather than try to find a shirt to purchase, I just decided to make it myself. I purchased a large white t-shirt (to give my kiddo lots of room to grow) and some black HTV (heat transfer vinyl). I wanted to make this as simple as possible. I created a file with the words CLASS of 2028 in ScanNCutCanvas then cut them out with my Scan N Cut. Don’t forgot to reverse the wording before printing it! You don’t want it on the shirt backwards!

It’s also important to remember with HTV is to make sure when you cut it you do not cut through the vinyl and the backing. You want what is called a “kiss cut”. So set your blade depth to 2 or 2.5. As long as you don’t remove your mat from the machine, you should be able to cut along the same lines with a deeper blade depth if the first cut didn’t do the job. Now if you do cut through the vinyl it’s not the end of the word… but it is going to make your job a bit more difficult.

Set your iron to a high setting with NO steam. After it’s nice and hot, place your vinyl on the shirt, letter facing down, put something over the vinyl (an old tshirt, pillowcase, usually whatever is in arms reach for me) and get to ironing! I hold it down for about 7-10 seconds for each area. After you’ve gone over the vinyl, give it a chance to cool, then run your hand over it to make sure you got everything transferred completely. And that’s it!

Go forth and create!

 

 

 

One thought on “Back to School – C/O 2028 Shirt

Leave a Reply

