Back to School – Lightbox Slides


I recently purchased a Heidi Swapp Lightbox from Michael’s. No, I didn’t use a 40% off coupon. What? Me? Not use a coupon? Nope… Because it was already 50% off in store! What?!?! Win/Win!

I’ve been watching the Lightbox for some time, but I couldn’t bring myself to spend $40 on something with a non-replaceable light bulb. Yep. You read that right. Once the lights burn out that’s it! But nonetheless, it’s a pretty cool accessory that I wanted, and for 1/2 off? Why not!

There are a bunch of accessories to go along with the Lightbox that you can take a look at here. If you choose to purchase, definitely look around. There are a couple of online stores (like Scrapbook.com) as well as Michael’s and JoAnn’s that have the accessories priced cheaper than they are on the American Crafts website.

School is starting next week (ah, where did summer go?!), so along with the “Class of …” t-shirt I talked about last week, I also take the mandatory “First Day of…” photos. I thought it would be fun to use the Lightbox this year, but there was no way I’d be able to fit the message I wanted on it. Cue the DIY music…

The slides you can purchase for the Lightbox are 12.5 x 3. I decided to use transparency film sheets  (you know, the ones the teachers used in class with the projector a LONGGGGGG time ago) for my DIY, but they were 8.5 x 11. This meant I wouldn’t be able to recreate the slides  exactly. I had to decide if I just wanted to go with a smaller size (11 x 3)* or if I wanted to cut each word individually and be able to space them out accordingly. In the end I decided to just do a full slide in a smaller size. (1) less pieces for me to keep up with, and (2) I figured I could use some of the cute icon slides to fill in the open space.

I pulled out my trusty Scan and Cut and cut the words, “First Day of” and “Last Day of” out of black vinyl. Of course you could use any color, but I just wanted mine to be pretty simple. I then transferred the vinyl to a transparency sheet laid out horizontally. I cut that down a three inch height. I was able to get both slides, “First Day of” and “Last Day of” out of my 12 x 12 piece of vinyl. Hey! Waste not, want not! I rounded the corners of the slides with my We R Memory Keepers 1-2-3 punch board to give it a finished look.  (It’s a great little tool that does a ton of things. I love this blog that showcases some of them). Rounding the corners could have been done with a lot of different tools, but I used what I had. (Note: The  1-2-3 punch board did NOT like the transparently sheets. I think the plastic kept getting stuck, so we won’t be doing that again.)

That’s about it! Now I need to figure out how to store these slides until the end of the school year!

Go forth and create!


*I had the hardest time trying to get my vinyl to be perfectly centered. In the future I plan to put the vinyl on the slide first, then cut it down to size. Instead of trying to line everything up on an 11 x 3 slide. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

