Teacher Appreciation Favor Bags

I am the worst when it come to procrastinating, but let me tell you, I do some of my best work at the 11th hour. So when I volunteered to handle teacher appreciation for the school for the month of April, (back in October of the year before), I had every intention of getting everything done well in advance. Well… let’s just say on March 1st I had a bit of a reality check. My kids go to one of the largest elementary schools in Missouri, and my teacher appreciation gift would need to serve 150 people. What’s that saying about the best intentions?

After talking to some of my other crafty friends, I decided I wanted to do some sort of personalized gift bag with a treat. I zoned in on a bag of popcorn and some candy.  About this time I started seeing blog hops for the latest Mama Elephant release, and everyone was talking about the XL Creative Cuts Favor Bag.  The were soooooo cute and the ideas in my head started flying! I figured out how large the assembled bag would be, and unfortunately it was not large enough for a bag of microwavable popcorn. But I was so in love with that die, I just figured I’d come up with something else to go inside of the bags.

I placed an order and got to work with the favor bag die, the Mama Elephant Page Huggers stamp and die set and the Mama Elephant Words Defined stamp set. Can you tell I’m really digging Mama Elephant right now?

I started with stamping sets of three of the page hugger animals and three of the accessories on watercolor paper. I used Distress Markers and a water brush to color those in.  After I’d done a few sets that way I switched to 80 lbs Neenah solar white cardstock and used Copics to color the rest of the sheets. If you like stamps you’ve got to check this set out. It is too cute! Some of the accessories include a little graduation cap, a little love note, a carrot… but I went with a pencil, stack of books and apple… staple teacher items. 6th grade graduation is right around the corner and I thought the little animals would be adorable with the graduation caps on their heads, but I stopped myself. One undertaking at a time!

Since I needed 150 sets, I carried the sheets around with me and worked on them everywhere. And I do mean everywhere… basketball practice, during my lunch breaks, family gatherings, even at the auto drive-in while I was wait for my car to get inspected after a hail storm.


Next I die cut a black frame with a heart in the middle.  I enlisted some help from my mom and she stamped the frames with the Teacher wording from the Words Defined stamp set.  This was the perfect time to use the MISTI because the white ink didn’t always give a solid stamp.


While Mom was hard at work stamping, I die cut all of the animals, accessories and bags. Finally it was time to assembly everything! It seems like a lot at first, but you get into a routine and before you know it we were done!


And the icing on the cake… mini microwave popcorn bags fit perfectly! I will tell you this was a pretty ambitious undertaking, probably my largest to date, but I cannot be more proud of the way everything turned out.

Now go forth and create!

Supplies used:
Copic Markers (RV02, RV04, RV21, RV23, R14, R29, N0, N2, C1, C3, C5, E23, E31, E34, E37, B24, B28, BG10, BG13, Y08, Y17, YG13, YG17, YG63, YR02, V15)
Distress Markers (Black Soot, Hickory Smoke, Worn Lipstick, Frayed Burlap, Mustard Seed, Carved Pumpkin, Barn Door, Dusty Concord, Mermaid Lagoon, Peeled Paint, Wild Honey)
Watercolor Brush Pen
Neenah Solar White – 80 lbs
Artist’s Loft Watercolor Paper
Mama Elephant XL Creative Cuts Favor Bag
Mama Elephant Page Huggers Creative Cuts
Mama Elephant Page Huggers stamp set
Mama Elephant Words Defined stamp set
Hero Arts Unicorn Pigment Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Dye Ink 
Cricut Cuttlebug
MISTI Stamping Tool
Martha Stewart Scoring Board
Fiskars Deluxe Paper Trimmer
Advanced Tape Glider (ATG)
ATG Double Sided Refill Tape
Kokuyo Dotliner Adhesive
Kokuyo Dotliner Adhesive Refill
Teflon Bone Folder

Leave a Reply

